Skip navigation

The most obvious problem with my career is that it doesn’t exist.  Okay, obviously being a student counts as work, but I hardly want to do it my whole life.  Don’t get me wrong- I never want to stop learning; I just want what anyone wants: successful, gainful employment in a field wherein I feel competent and accomplished.

The problem lies in that I’ve never been exactly sure what field that is.  All I’ve ever known for certain is that I wanted to be awesome.  It only occurred to me much later in life (I’m 20, so not THAT much later) that I had to be awesome at something.  Nobody really asked me what I wanted to be, except teachers who wanted me to draw pictures, and I don’t recall any particular interests being instilled for most of my childhood.  If my parents had talked to me about my career at that age, I think it might have gone something like this:

And it’s true.  Throughout my life I have only consistently cared about the things that go into my mouth.  Everything else has been just a phase.  Candy’s the only thing that’s lasted.  So, naturally, I guess my parents are pleased that I’ve decided on music instead of candy.  In fact, now that I think about it, paying for ten years of piano lessons was probably that “interest being instilled” I didn’t recall in the last paragraph.  Anyhow, feeling at home at the piano has definitely contributed to my “Competent and Accomplished” fantasy.  If that’s what they were doing, I have to say they did a good job because if I’d known their intentions I probably wouldn’t have been interested.  Thanks, mom and dad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

